Latest books review by Wendy Denham.

    I recently completed two books written by A. White and wanted to leave a review openly but was unable to since the site changed their policy. I was unaware of that when I tried to review the books. So, I’m sending my review directly to the author who listed an email address on Goodreads.com. He or she is free to use it however they want.

 

   First of all, the books were both well-written and thoroughly thought out before being put into contents. These were not quick books.

 

 In my opinion, I view the first book as somewhat dystopia in some areas.  The structure fits snugly within the words of Aristotle.  “Tolerance and apathy are the last virtues of a dying society.” ~ Aristotle.”

 

The works doesn’t seem to fall under one particular genre. Therefore, I’m labeling them epical fiction. What I find most unusually is how the author is able to shift gears as expertly as a professional race car driver shifting a stick to force the car to pick up speed or reduce speed or to maneuver ahead to the finish line and guide the move smoothly from one scene to the next without leaving the reader behind.  Most books follow the same plot throughout the entire book.  Each chapter is merely a continuation of the prior chapter. But I quickly noticed that was not the case with these two book. With every chapter, there’s an entire new storyline or scene but related to the overall scheme of the book.

 

Each story leaves one wanting more. I must say I’m pleased with how A. White presented Ana BuFaye. As a real but yet fictional woman and not a fictional sexual fantasy who is submissive to any man who pays her attention. Which is so ever popular in this fantasy and fictional stories. Eventhus, the work is fictional it is a positive presentation for a young woman.  I think A. White knew when he or she wrote the story the main character wouldn’t be highly nor well perceived if Ana Bufaye’s love interest wasn’t doing horrible things to her. There’s much horror committed against her but not by the man who loves her. But the author took the chance anyway and with those like myself it paid off well.

 

  Eventhus, the work isn’t listed for young adults but I see nothing wrong with listing it as suitable for young adults. I’ve read and reviewed many in this genre had far greater expletive language and sexual contents than these two books. Just maybe it might give them a general idea of what a real loving relationship is all about. Not the popular image of female bondage and abuse that is no freely flowing today. I feel these literary images cripple young men in their future relationships. They never learn how to successful relate to women. I know authors aren’t parents of the readers and it isn’t their job to teach young people what they ought to know. But that’s just my two cents.

 

I laughed when I read where three-year-old Breanna Wyett were behaving better than some of the fictional characters who are older than the earth.  Oh, I caught the message in that one. LOL! It was a hidden one but I detected it.

 

In “The Immortal Lover,” even my husband had to laugh at Azazel’s eulogy of the dying Casanova, at least he eulogized him before he passed away. Azazel told him exactly what he was going to say at his funeral. The part where he told Casanova exactly what he ‘did’ to people and how he ‘does’ it in places people preferred he not ‘do’ it. Now, that one was hilarious!

 

The books were adrenaline pumping and super-charged but also warm, witty and engaging. It was like the author knew when to come down off the thrill and be warm and mellow.  He or she doesn’t try to drag you through an insane level of adrenaline rush throughout the entire books leaving you exhausted.

  To sum up the emotional aspects of the books there’s love, romance, humor, compassion, empathy, redemption, and forgiveness and of course a lot of anger and rage but for very good reasons. I don’t mind my name being applied to the review. I read where reviews couldn’t be left if you knew the author. I do not know whether A. White is male or female. But I’m presumptuous the author is a woman by the tenderness, consideration, and compassion shown for a child so young in the novels.

 

Wendy Denham,

Montpelier, VT

the-immortal-lover-use

 

 

About unholypursuit

A. White is a long time member of Romantic Time and Publisher's Weekly who has been writing for over fifteen years. She took classes in creative writing in college, specializing in ancient myths and legends. and at a local community center while living in Chicago. In college she won the national contest to verbally list every country in the world, it's capital and ingenious language. Her works are mainly horror, fantasy, extreme, and sci-fi as well as, as some may says, "the truly strange predicament and puzzling." Books that I've written are "Clash with the Immortals, and eleven others which are part of the "Unholy Pursuit saga," which should be finished this year. She has been working on the Chronicles since 2007. She wished to complete them all before introducing them to public so the readers wouldn't have to for the continuation to be written. The ideas of the book came from classic literature such as whose work greatly influence the world world such as Homer, Sophocles, Herodotus, Euripides, Socrates, Hippocrates, Aristophanes, Plato, Aristotle and many more. The "Book of Enoch" influenced the usage of Azazael as a main character and love interest. I created the primary main character from the Chronicle of Saints. I wanted to show them as real flesh and blood with thoughts, desires and yearning as any human. Not as they are so often depicted. So I created one of my own to show her as a real human that everyone can relate to.
This entry was posted in ANNOUNCEMENTTS, Book reviews., books, life, lover, paranormal romance,, The Immortal Lover, Unholy Pursuit main character and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Latest books review by Wendy Denham.

  1. I will replying to this one privately since it was sent privately.

    On Mon, Apr 3, 2017 at 10:34 PM, The Novel: UnHoly Pursuit: Devil on my Tra

    Like

  2. Thanks everyone for liking the review. I must say it came as complete surprise. 🙂

    Like

  3. Faye says:

    I echo this review on the books. No matter which way you look at it is a great story. Good plot. I have fallen in ĺove with Bea, terrible mouth and all. Finally somebody wrote about real people in hypothetical situations. Not people who can not do something besides sound like they need Prozac. And it rare to find literature nowadays where the main female character isn’t a slut. I was tried of all the female characters being a galactic strip tease for adolescent boys and men who need to grow up. I’m glad you didn’t take the futuristic aspects in that direction.

    Like

  4. Faye le morgan says:

    It was nice of the reviewer to keep trying to reach you. Most people would have not done that.

    Like

  5. Amanda Stevens says:

    “*What I find most unusually is how the author is able to shift gears as expertly as a professional race car driver shifting a stick to force the car to pick up speed or reduce speed or to maneuver ahead to the finish line and guide the move smoothly from one scene to the next without leaving the reader behind. “*

    I agree with this review, the books does shift gears. None of them follows the same overtone from start to finish. They are sort of like music which changes tones from start to finish. I think this is what a good book could do.

    On Mon, Apr 3, 2017 at 10:34 PM, The Novel: UnHoly Pursuit: Devil on my Tra

    Like

Leave a Reply

