Happy, suspense or sad endings. Which do you prefer?

The dilemma I am facing today is which ending most people prefer? Happy endings, suspense, or sad endings.

I was asked why aren’t the endings happy? Well, there are many happy moments through the series. I can’t give away too much but things changes as the series progress. But in my humble opinion, I think the endings are pretty happy. They managed to outwit Nikola and live another day.  When dealing with a pure diabolic, psychopath living another day is a happy ending.

I never thought seriously about giving all the books a happy, sad or suspended ending. They all ends with however the plot is steering the story. 

I was wondering do most people prefer a happy ending or what? I first thought about it years ago when I started writing the series.  My first beta readers were off-line people. (No, most were not my family.) They were people I met through various walks of life. They preferred a realistic ending that fitted the plot. They didn’t care for happily ever after endings at all. Some even refused to review the next book.  So I went back to the original idea I had in mind and they liked it much better. 

No, I am not telling you how the story almost went that caused such an outcry among my beta readers.

     Recently, one reader suggested that I put Ana  and Nikola together and let them have a happy ending. I asked her to offer suggestions in how to accomplish that without changing the entire plot. How can I make Nikola into a nice warlock? Who stop acting like a psychopath and murdering people?

She replied, “You did it with Azazel.”

I told her it took millions of years for Azazel to learn how to love someone with his heart. Nikola is mortal. He doesn’t have millions of years to straighten up and fly right. It would be nice in life if we could convince people like Nikola to be good but that isn’t going happen. The only thing Ana would get trying to love Nikola is death and that isn’t my idea of a romantic story. I know that’s the popular Hollywood idea but my idea is the person lives a good long time past the heady romantic stage of the relationship and still love each other.

In my opinion, it all depends on the story itself rather the ending can be happy, sad, or a suspense. If one is writing about human trafficking or a kidnapping. We all would like to see a happy ending and are besides ourselves with joy when all turns out well. I do believe these stories can end well. “The Ransom of Red Chief” did.

 

 

About unholypursuit

A. White is a long time member of Romantic Time and Publisher's Weekly who has been writing for over fifteen years. She took classes in creative writing in college, specializing in ancient myths and legends. and at a local community center while living in Chicago. In college she won the national contest to verbally list every country in the world, it's capital and ingenious language. Her works are mainly horror, fantasy, extreme, and sci-fi as well as, as some may says, "the truly strange predicament and puzzling." Books that I've written are "Clash with the Immortals, and eleven others which are part of the "Unholy Pursuit saga," which should be finished this year. She has been working on the Chronicles since 2007. She wished to complete them all before introducing them to public so the readers wouldn't have to for the continuation to be written. The ideas of the book came from classic literature such as whose work greatly influence the world world such as Homer, Sophocles, Herodotus, Euripides, Socrates, Hippocrates, Aristophanes, Plato, Aristotle and many more. The "Book of Enoch" influenced the usage of Azazael as a main character and love interest. I created the primary main character from the Chronicle of Saints. I wanted to show them as real flesh and blood with thoughts, desires and yearning as any human. Not as they are so often depicted. So I created one of my own to show her as a real human that everyone can relate to.
This entry was posted in ANNOUNCEMENTTS, book lovers, Fans, paranormal romance, and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy, suspense or sad endings. Which do you prefer?

  1. Alisha says:

    I appreciate stories with all three ending. But I don’t think an author could force a happy ending if the situation is serious. I have seen too many author start out with one type of series and end up with another. Stick with the outlines of your original plot. Putting Nikola and Ana together is begging for a blood bath. What part of Nikola is genuinely trying to kill Ana that woman didn’t understand. You can’t have a love affair with a psycho! They are psychos. They kill people. That’s what they do. Anyone who thinks the stories are too melancholic then there are plenty of unbelievable happy ending stories out there.

    On Wed, May 24, 2017 at 8:46 AM, The Novel: UnHoly Pursuit: Devil on my Tra

    Like

    • As I said, I think the ending has to be appropriate for the story. Some stories can wear a happy ending well. While others can not. Different authors write different types of stories. Authors like Mary Higgins Clark and Danielle Steel most of their stories have a happy ending.

      Like

  2. Lila says:

    Τhese are really fantastic books listed on your blogging. You have touched some fastidious viewpoints here. I know you are perhaps tired of people saying this by now but any way kеep up writing. Thank you for writing about a woman who can get things done and aren’t moping around depressed about nothing
    . Thank you for writing about a woman who isn’t laying somewhere crying all day about how much she loves the man. Thank you for writing about how real women react to situations. In the infamous words of Ana BuFaye: “Know this and know this well!”

    I would love to see a showdown between Christian Gray and Ana BuFaye. She would be the one doing the whipping. LOL!

    Like

    • LOL! Lila, I see you’ve read it. I figured if she didn’t get up and run Nikola would catch her. He’s hoping she’s lying down crying so she will be easier to catch. LOL!
      I doubt there will ever be a chance of those two characters meeting because that’s about how it would go. LOL!

      Like

Leave a Reply

