Sloth Bear

I think he or she’s adorable as can be. I have never seen one but would like to someday. I have never seen a bear with a mane.

 

 

 

Khal20080410-191MMiThe sloth bear (Melursus ursinus), also known as the labiated bear,[2 is an insectivorous bear species native to the Indian subcontinent. The sloth bear evolved from ancestral brown bears during the Pleistocene and shares features found in insect-eating mammals through convergent evolution. The population isolated in Sri Lanka is considered a subspecies. Compared to brown and black bears, sloth bears have lankier builds, long, shaggy coats that form a mane around the face, long, sickle-shaped claws, and a specially adapted lower lip and palate used for sucking insects. Sloth bears breed during spring and early summer and give birth near the beginning of winter. They feed on termites, honeybee colonies, and fruits. Sloth bears sometimes attack humans who encroach on their territories. Historically, humans have drastically reduced their habitat and diminished their population by hunting them for food and products such as their bacula and claws. These bears have been used as performing pets due to their tameable nature.[3] The sloth bear is listed as Vulnerable by the IUCN due to habitat loss and poaching.

About unholypursuit

A. White is a long time member of Romantic Time and Publisher's Weekly who has been writing for over fifteen years. She took classes in creative writing in college, specializing in ancient myths and legends. and at a local community center while living in Chicago. In college she won the national contest to verbally list every country in the world, it's capital and ingenious language. Her works are mainly horror, fantasy, extreme, and sci-fi as well as, as some may says, "the truly strange predicament and puzzling." Books that I've written are "Clash with the Immortals, and eleven others which are part of the "Unholy Pursuit saga," which should be finished this year. She has been working on the Chronicles since 2007. She wished to complete them all before introducing them to public so the readers wouldn't have to for the continuation to be written. The ideas of the book came from classic literature such as whose work greatly influence the world world such as Homer, Sophocles, Herodotus, Euripides, Socrates, Hippocrates, Aristophanes, Plato, Aristotle and many more. The "Book of Enoch" influenced the usage of Azazael as a main character and love interest. I created the primary main character from the Chronicle of Saints. I wanted to show them as real flesh and blood with thoughts, desires and yearning as any human. Not as they are so often depicted. So I created one of my own to show her as a real human that everyone can relate to.
This entry was posted in ANNOUNCEMENTTS, paranormal romance,, Personal thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sloth Bear

  1. They look so cute 🙂

    Like

  2. I just recently discover them so they are going to be added to my long, long list of cute furry animals. My list of lovable animals include many who are considered cute. I see beauty in all of creation. 🙂

    On Wed, May 24, 2017 at 8:58 AM, The Novel: UnHoly Pursuit: Devil on my Tra

    Like

  3. Alisha says:

    Aww, the sloth bear is so cute. Wish I had one.

    On Wed, May 24, 2017 at 8:58 AM, The Novel: UnHoly Pursuit: Devil on my Tra

    Like

    • Yes, he or she is a real darling. But I looked at my pets’ claws and decided. The Sloth Bear’s claws are bigger and look sharper. SO I changed my mind about owning one. 😀

      Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    I know this is an off subject topic but when will the book about vampires be out?

    Like

  5. Kenny says:

    Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and coverage! It a refreshing change from the constant bombard of horrible news we read everyday.

    Like

  6. cancer survivor says:

    I had never heard of a sloth bear neither. He or she is cute. You know what! It’s awesome to visit here and reading the views of all the things the people I consider my colleagues have to say on the topic of these posts, while I am also of getting a lot of knowledge on the author and their writing. I am at home a lot because I recently went into remission of cancer. I like the fact that bad guys doesn’t always win in your books. Ana kick back and fight back with gusto.

    Like

Leave a Reply

