Why I like to read books written by self-published authors.

Believe it or not most authors are zestful readers too. Most read such a wide variety of books that they really have no particular favorite genre. At least I don’t.  What I like best about independent publishing houses or self publishers is I find you get more of a true form of literature. What I mean by that is both produce work in a more genuine form of what the author is actually saying. I have been able to find a wider range of topics written about. There isn’t as much restriction on what the plot of the book must be about. I find independent authors and publishing houses have more freedom to write more affluently.

Today a self -published author sent me a book for a beta read. He haven’t named it yet but it’s about a family during the “Great Recession.” (I haven’t finished it yet) but it’s a fictional story about struggle for survival sort of like “The Grapes of Wrath.” How the children’ world was turned upside down and the parents found no easy way to explain what was happening.

I have read many, many books by the big publishers  many of my favorite authors are with the big publishers. So I think the years of spending my hard earned money for books entitled me to state my opinion. Don’t’ get me wrong. I still read many of the big publishers books. But I have come to know what topic will be published by which company. They rarely detour from their genre. If I see a book by a certain company I automatically knows what to expect from their books.

With the independent author. You never know what you may find and I like that.

About unholypursuit

A. White is a long time member of Romantic Time and Publisher's Weekly who has been writing for over fifteen years. She took classes in creative writing in college, specializing in ancient myths and legends. and at a local community center while living in Chicago. In college she won the national contest to verbally list every country in the world, it's capital and ingenious language. Her works are mainly horror, fantasy, extreme, and sci-fi as well as, as some may says, "the truly strange predicament and puzzling." Books that I've written are "Clash with the Immortals, and eleven others which are part of the "Unholy Pursuit saga," which should be finished this year. She has been working on the Chronicles since 2007. She wished to complete them all before introducing them to public so the readers wouldn't have to for the continuation to be written. The ideas of the book came from classic literature such as whose work greatly influence the world world such as Homer, Sophocles, Herodotus, Euripides, Socrates, Hippocrates, Aristophanes, Plato, Aristotle and many more. The "Book of Enoch" influenced the usage of Azazael as a main character and love interest. I created the primary main character from the Chronicle of Saints. I wanted to show them as real flesh and blood with thoughts, desires and yearning as any human. Not as they are so often depicted. So I created one of my own to show her as a real human that everyone can relate to.
This entry was posted in ANNOUNCEMENTTS, Book reviews., books, life, novel, Personal thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why I like to read books written by self-published authors.

  1. Pingback: Reading Self-Published Authors – Tribe & Fiber

  2. Janis says:

    I do too because like you said, you never know what you will find where as with big companies you what you’re going to get. It’s usually the same story the only thing change is the author and name of characters.

    On Sat, Jun 3, 2017 at 1:45 AM, The Novel: UnHoly Pursuit: Devil on my Tra

    Like

    • Don’t get me wrong. I love a lot of the work introduced by big publishing houses. But I don’t always like the way they edit or chop up a book. I feel they should let the author say what the story is truly saying instead of forcing it into a square box.

      Like

  3. Dragthepen says:

    Thank you. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

