Ways to avoid heat exhaustion.

Way to avoid heat exhaustion

I know everyone is happy that summer is near.  June 21, 2017 is the first day of summer. But for those of us who live in normally cold climates the first few heat waves can be a brutal.  Since the days of global warming we must take measures to ensure safety that wasn’t a big issue years ago. A rotor fan used to all needed to keep cool during the summer but nowadays a fan powerful enough blow you down would do little, next to nothing in keeping you cool.

Don’t forget your pets when thinking of heat exhaustion. Never leave one in a car even with the window down or A.C. Some cars automatically shuts off if overheated.

Besides a day at the beach or lakeside, here are other ways according to the Mayo Clinic to deal with avoiding heat exhaustion which can be dangerous and even fatal.

You can take a number of precautions to prevent heat exhaustion and other heat-related illnesses. When temperatures climb, remember to:

Wear loosefitting, lightweight, light-colored clothing. Excess, dark or tight clothing holds in heat and doesn’t let your body cool properly because it inhibits sweat evaporation.

Avoid sunburn. If you’re going to be outdoors, wear a lightweight, wide-brimmed hat or use an umbrella to protect yourself from the sun, and apply sunscreen to any exposed skin. Having a sunburn reduces your body’s ability to rid itself of heat.

Seek a cooler place. Being in an air-conditioned building, even for just a few hours, is one of the best ways to prevent heat exhaustion. If your home doesn’t have an air conditioner, consider spending time at a library or shopping mall. At the very least, find a well-shaded spot. Fans alone aren’t adequate to counter high heat and humidity.

Drink plenty of fluids. Staying hydrated will help your body sweat and maintain a normal body temperature. If your doctor has told you to limit fluids because of a health condition, be sure to check with him or her about how much extra you need to drink when the temperature rises. Avoid alcoholic beverages.

Take extra precautions with certain medications. Ask your doctor or pharmacist whether the medications you take make you more susceptible to heat exhaustion and, if so, what you can do to keep your body from overheating.

Avoid hot spots. On a hot day, the temperature in your parked car can rise 20 F (11 C) in just 10 minutes. Let your car cool off before you drive it. Never leave children or anyone else in a parked car in hot weather for any period of time.

Let your body acclimate to the heat. If you travel to somewhere hot, or the temperatures suddenly jump in your area, it can take several weeks for your body to get used to the heat. You’ll still need to take precautions, but working or exercising in heat should become more tolerable. If you’re on vacation, you probably don’t have several weeks to wait, but it’s a good idea to wait at least a few days before attempting vigorous activity in the heat.

It’s best not to exercise or do any strenuous activity in hot weather, but if you must, follow the same precautions and rest frequently in a cool spot. Taking breaks and replenishing your fluids during that time will help your body regulate your temperature.

People with certain medical conditions could always stay within coolness. The link above discuss which conditions excess heat worsen.

Many cities have safe spots during the heatwave days. In many cities this means any place of business must allow people inside to cool down during the dangerous hours rather they are a customer or not. Boston was under heat advisory last week and so were New York City.

 

About unholypursuit

A. White is a long time member of Romantic Time and Publisher's Weekly who has been writing for over fifteen years. She took classes in creative writing in college, specializing in ancient myths and legends. and at a local community center while living in Chicago. In college she won the national contest to verbally list every country in the world, it's capital and ingenious language. Her works are mainly horror, fantasy, extreme, and sci-fi as well as, as some may says, "the truly strange predicament and puzzling." Books that I've written are "Clash with the Immortals, and eleven others which are part of the "Unholy Pursuit saga," which should be finished this year. She has been working on the Chronicles since 2007. She wished to complete them all before introducing them to public so the readers wouldn't have to for the continuation to be written. The ideas of the book came from classic literature such as whose work greatly influence the world world such as Homer, Sophocles, Herodotus, Euripides, Socrates, Hippocrates, Aristophanes, Plato, Aristotle and many more. The "Book of Enoch" influenced the usage of Azazael as a main character and love interest. I created the primary main character from the Chronicle of Saints. I wanted to show them as real flesh and blood with thoughts, desires and yearning as any human. Not as they are so often depicted. So I created one of my own to show her as a real human that everyone can relate to.
This entry was posted in advice, life, suggestions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ways to avoid heat exhaustion.

  1. Keejee says:

    Thanks this is very valuable information for this overheated season. I know the rest is off topic but I read your books and you have touched some unpleasant things here in your stories. Things that people don’t like to talk about and even say they don’t exist. I know the story is fictional but much of the subjects are real. By the way, thanks for not turning it into Game of Thrones or the Hunger Games although it’s a futurist book. I like both of these books but I don’t want to read it again and again in every futurist society book I read. Thanks for creating a brand new futurist world. Any way keep up writing.

    Like

  2. Empire says:

    I stumbled over here from a different site, I was looking for information on this subject, we are suffering over 100 degree weather here and finding what I was looking I thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see here so I am just following you. I look forward to exploring your blog again. I haven’t read any of your books yet but the previews seems interesting.

    Like

    • Hi there, glad you found us. Sorry to hear about the excessive heat your way. The article I think came from a medical journal. You can find more information on the article via the link provided.

      Like

  3. Nila says:

    You have a pretty section of content here. I just stumbled upon your blog looking for ways to keep cool and in the progress I found a book. 🙂

    Like

  4. education says:

    I was recommended this web page to my summer school class. I’m not certain whether this post is written by the owner of this blog. But nonetheless it is useful information. Thank you!

    Like

    • No, I’m not the original author. I believe there’s a link to the original page. I thought the information would be useful since so many people were speaking of the dangerous heat alert in their section of the country.

      Like

  5. Omar says:

    I dropped by this post because the weather is brutal in my city. But I must say normally, I only read finical news like the Wall Street Journal. But a friend recommended your books to me to help me relax and he was right, you’re a great author and spoils your readers. I’ve found myself look forward on your next book and post!

    Like

  6. Pierre says:

    Hi to all, the contents present at this blog are actually remarkable for people knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows. It’s much needed.

    Like

  7. Aubery says:

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article! Many thanks, However I am experiencing joining your blog. I don’t understand the reason why I cannot join it. Is it just for book readers? Thanx!!

    Like

  8. health plan says:

    We absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome website!

    Like

Leave a Reply

