Aretha Franklin “The Queen of Soul” dies at 76.

Aretha Franklin

 

This is truly a voice lost to the world even if you didn’t like rhythm and blues. The woman possessed a voice that was a powerhouse. No one can ever stake a claim on Aretha Franklin’s crown. Truly, she is the Queen of Soul. Not only was she a singer, she stood solidly in the struggle for civil rights. RIP beautiful lady. For those of us who wasn’t around back then she deserve our ‘Respect’.

 

                                                                Respect

Aretha Franklin
What you want
Baby, I got it
What you need
Do you know I got it
All I’m askin’
Is for a little respect when you get home (just a little bit)
Hey baby (just a little bit) when you get home
(Just a little bit) mister (just a little bit)
I ain’t gonna do you wrong while you’re gone
Ain’t gonna do you wrong cause I don’t wanna
All I’m askin’
Is for a little respect when you come home (just a little bit)
Baby (just a little bit) when you get home (just a little bit)
Yeah (just a little bit)

I’m about to give you all of my money
And all I’m askin’ in return, honey
Is to give me my propers
When you get home (just a, just a, just a, just a)
Yeah baby (just a, just a, just a, just a)
When you get home (just a little bit)
Yeah (just a little bit)
Ooo, your kisses
Sweeter than honey
And guess what?
So is my money
All I want you to do for me
Is give it to me when you get home (re, re, re ,re)
Yeah baby (re, re, re ,re)
Whip it to me (respect, just a little bit)
When you get home, now (just a little bit)

R-E-S-P-E-C-T
Find out what it means to me
R-E-S-P-E-C-T
Take care, TCB
Oh (sock it to me, sock it to me, sock it to me, sock it to me)
A little respect (sock it to me, sock it to me, sock it to me, sock it to me)
Whoa, babe (just a little bit)
A little respect (just a little bit)
I get tired (just a little bit)
Keep on tryin’ (just a little bit)
You’re runnin’ out of fools (just a little bit)
And I ain’t lyin’ (just a little bit)
(Re, re, re, re) when you come home
(Re, re, re ,re) ‘spect
Or you might walk in (respect, just a little bit)
And find out I’m gone (just a little bit)
I got to have (just a little bit)
A little respect (just a little bit)

Songwriters: Otis Redding

“Respect” is a song written and originally released by American recording artist Otis Redding in 1965. The song became a 1967 hit and signature song for R&B singer Aretha Franklin. … However, Franklin’s version is a declaration from a strong, confident woman, who knows that she has everything her man wants.

About unholypursuit

A. White, an award winning former librarian, who is also a long time member of Romantic Time and Publisher's Weekly. A. White has been writing for over fifteen years. She took classes in creative writing in college, specializing in ancient myths and legends. and later at a local community center while living in Chicago. In college she won the national contest to verbally list every country in the world, it's capital and ingenious language. Her works are mainly horror, fantasy, extreme, and sci-fi as well as, as some may says, "the truly strange predicament and puzzling." Books that I've written are "Clash with the Immortals, and eleven others which are part of the "Unholy Pursuit saga,". She has been working on the Chronicles since 2007. She wished to complete them all before introducing them to public so the readers wouldn't have to for the continuation to be written. The ideas of the book come from classic literature such as whose work greatly influence the world world such as Homer, Sophocles, Herodotus, Euripides, Socrates, Hippocrates, Aristophanes, Plato, Aristotle and many more. The "Book of Enoch" influenced the usage of Azazael as a main character and love interest. I created the primary main character from the Chronicle of Saints. I wanted to show them as real flesh and blood with thoughts, desires and yearning as any human. Not as they are so often depicted. So I created one of my own to show her as a real human that everyone can relate to.
This entry was posted in African American History, ANNOUNCEMENTTS, Artists, blogging, girls, gospel, life, love, queens, respect and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Aretha Franklin “The Queen of Soul” dies at 76.

  1. UpwardJourneys says:

    Very sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ann H. says:

    I met her in real life in 1973 in Greenwich Village. She was a real person not a phony and a fake like so many performers today. You young people just don’t know just how much this woman did to help create the society we know today. More than America can thank her for. “Respect” became the anthem for the feminine movement and so did “Natural Women.” She often performed for free to support a cause. Proceeding from her concerts supported many worthy causes. Everything from meals to inner city children, hospital bills, meals and housing for elders, legal defense for the falsely accused. She did it all without making a big production of it. When a movement she supported started running low on funds she gave a concert to push it further. She partial responsible for Roe vs Wade finding the resources to continue to fight all the way to the Supreme Court. Before the winning of this landmark decision there were no domestic violence laws in place. The law pretty much covers women’s overall health therefore domestic violence was included. If it’s repealed the ‘no bigger than his thumb” stick law can return. In you all don’t know what that means: It means a man such as your husband, father can legally beat you with a switch or stick no thicker than his thumb but abusers do not stop there.

    So yes, she most definitely the QUEEN.

    R.I.P, sister. Job well done.

    On Thu, Aug 16, 2018 at 9:33 PM,

    Liked by 1 person

    • That sounds an exciting era to have lived through. My hat off to you who has walked with the queens. For only a queen can walk among queens. Those like yourself, Rosa Park, Carrie Nation, Zora Hursrton, Sojourner Truth, Aretha, the Rosie the riveters and many other women who paved the way for us have no idea how much those of us with a lick of sense thanks you all for your hard work. For standing up for little girls everywhere and making things easier for all of us.

      Like

  3. Ham says:

    Thanks for the tribute.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.