Should Ratings Dominate the Sale of Books or Artworks?

I started this post back in March 2018 and is just getting around to finishing it. For the past year I’ve been busy with my books. I forgot all about it. But I am happy WordPress saved the post. 🙂

Writing and other forms of art are the only profession I know where the person is solely at the mercy of others’ opinion. I have seen many other professions who does horrible work and are still maintain their livelihood. It isn’t affected by the opinion of others. I mean unless they do such a horrible job that cause injury to someone.

(I semi-rescind that—if you sell online at platforms like Ebay and many others then your rating dominates the sales you make or do not make.)

Unfortunately it doesn’t work that way with the arts.

In my personal opinion. No, they could not because the same rating means different things on different sites. But unfortunately, this is the case. Especially involving on-line sale, a rating can determine if your book sell or not. No rating doesn’t always means the book isn’t selling. It means readers aren’t leaving a rating.

This is not so much the case publicly. In the public, people don’t care what type of ratings you have online  because most aren’t going to sign on line and read them. They wants to know is it worth their while to read it. That’s why I keep stressing: establish an off-lline present. Do not put all your eggs in on basket. Spread them out. That way you won’t be solely at the mercy of rating systems that’s aren’t kind to new authors.

Personally, I do not look at the ratings when deciding to buy or read a book. I read the excerpt and if buying the book in person I read the preface or introduction. If I’m buying art I buy according to my taste not what everyone say. Then again, I have always been a noncomformer.  🙂

I’m sure you all know there’s a darkside to this rating requirement to gain sales. I’m sure many authors have faced it. The push to get reviews can lead into agenda not so pleasant situation for the author.

 

The URL below leads to a site that talks about how rating effects an author.

Explaining rating systems.

About unholypursuit

A. White, an award winning former librarian, who is also a long time member of Romantic Time and Publisher's Weekly. A. White has been writing for over fifteen years. She took classes in creative writing in college, specializing in ancient myths and legends. and later at a local community center while living in Chicago. In college she won the national contest to verbally list every country in the world, it's capital and ingenious language. Her works are mainly horror, fantasy, extreme, and sci-fi as well as, as some may says, "the truly strange predicament and puzzling." Books that I've written are "Clash with the Immortals, and eleven others which are part of the "Unholy Pursuit saga,". She has been working on the Chronicles since 2007. She wished to complete them all before introducing them to public so the readers wouldn't have to for the continuation to be written. The ideas of the book come from classic literature such as whose work greatly influence the world world such as Homer, Sophocles, Herodotus, Euripides, Socrates, Hippocrates, Aristophanes, Plato, Aristotle and many more. The "Book of Enoch" influenced the usage of Azazael as a main character and love interest. I created the primary main character from the Chronicle of Saints. I wanted to show them as real flesh and blood with thoughts, desires and yearning as any human. Not as they are so often depicted. So I created one of my own to show her as a real human that everyone can relate to.
This entry was posted in advice, ANNOUNCEMENTTS, blogging, book lovers, book signing, books, life, readers, writers, writings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Should Ratings Dominate the Sale of Books or Artworks?

  1. Keller says:

    I think you are most likely to meet real readers offline.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keller says:

    No they shouldn’t but the algorithms rating affect the book sales more so than reviews. Clicks determined if your book is seen not the ratings.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.